PRC Commissioner Nanci Langley begins term as Vice Chairman

Press Release from the Postal Regulatory Commission

January 6, 2012

Washington, DC–Postal Regulatory Commission Chairman Ruth Y. Goldway this week announced the start of Nanci E. Langley’s term as Vice Chairman of the Commission, succeeding Commissioner Mark Acton. PRC regulations provide that the Commissioners elect a member to serve as Vice Chairman for a term of one year. Vice Chairman Langley was elected on December 7, 2011 to the post, with her term beginning January 1, 2012. She previously served as PRC Vice Chairman from October 2008 – October 2009.

At the request of Chairman Goldway, Langley led the Commission’s work last year on its first report under section 701 of the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act of 2006 that directs the Commission to report to the President and Congress every five years on how well the law is operating and recommend measures to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of postal laws.

Langley was confirmed by the U.S. Senate on June 6, 2008, for a term extending through November 22, 2012. Prior to her appointment, she served 24 years as a senior legislative and policy advisor to two United States Senators from her home state of Hawaii – Senator Daniel K. Akaka and Senator Spark M. Matsunaga. In recognition of her extensive professional career in public administration and government management, she was elected as a Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration in 2009. She is a graduate of the University of Southern California and the Punahou School in Honolulu, Hawaii.

“I am honored to be elected Vice Chairman by my colleagues and look forward to our continuing work in fostering a vibrant and efficient universal mail system. This Commission is a vital part of the solution to the many challenges facing the U.S. Postal Service and the public it serves,” said Langley.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission holds regular public monthly meetings and posts all of its activities: dockets, appeal cases, Advisory Opinions, etc. on its website:

The Commission comprises five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Ruth Y. Goldway, the other Commissioners are Vice Chairman Nanci Langley, Mark Acton and Robert Taub. There is currently one vacancy. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator.