House Republicans Pass Pay Cut For Postal, Federal Employees

APWU News Bulletin 14-2012, May 17, 2012

The House of Representatives voted for a 5 percent cut in postal and federal workers’ pay on May 10 by approving an increase in employees’ pension contributions. Republican members of the House provided all 218 votes in favor of the measure, while 183 Democrats and 16 Republicans opposed it.

The 2012 Sequester Replacement Reconciliation Act, (H.R. 5652) introduced by Budget Chairman Paul Ryan (R-WI), would phase-in the five percent employee contribution increases for both the Federal Employees Retirement System (FERS) and the Civil Service Retirement System (CSRS) over five years.

The bill requires FERS employees to contribute 5.8 percent of each paycheck toward the FERS basic annuity portion of their pensions and requires CSRS employees to contribute 12 percent, yet it does not increase employees’ annuities or improve benefits upon retirement.

The bill would also require new federal employees who are hired after 2012 with fewer than five years of previous federal service to immediately pay 5.8 percent to the FERS plan, with no phase-in. In addition, the bill would eliminate the FERS Social Security supplement for new employees hired beginning in 2013, which is now paid to FERS employees who voluntarily retire before reaching age 62.

“This should serve as a reminder to APWU members when voting in the November elections. Vote for candidates who support postal workers and working families,” said APWU President Cliff Guffey.

House Republicans Who Voted in Favor of H.R. 5652

Adams (R-FL)
Aderholt (R-ST)
Akin (R-MO)
Alexander (R-LA)
Amodei (R-NV)
Austria (R-OH)
Bachmann (R-MN)
Bachus (R-AL)
Barletta (R-PA)
Barton (R-TX)
Benishek (R-MI)
Berg (R-ND)
Biggert (R-IL)
Bilbray (R-CA)
Bilirakis (R-FL)
Bishop (R-UT)
Black (R-TN)
Blackburn (R-TN)
Bonner (R-AL)
Bono (R-CA)
Boustany (R-LA)
Brady (R-TX)
Brooks (R-AL)
Broun (R-GA)
Buchanan (R-FL)
Bucshon (R-IN)
Buerkle (R-NY)
Burton (R-IN)
Calvert (R-CA)
Camp (R-MI)
Campbell (R-CA)
Canseco (R-TX)
Cantor (R-VA)
Capito (R-WV)
Carter (R-TX)
Cassidy (R-LA)
Chabot (R-OH)
Chaffetz (R-UT)
Coble (R-NC)
Coffman (R-CO)
Cole (R-OK)
Conaway (R-TX)
Cravaack (R-MN)
Crawford (R-AK)
Crenshaw (R-FL)
Culberson (R-TX)
Davis (R-KY)
Denham (R-CA)
Dent (R-PA)
DesJarlais (R-TN)
Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
Dold (R-IL)
Dreier (R-CA)
Duffy (R-WI)
Duncan (R-SC)
Ellmers (R-NC)
Emerson (R-MO)
Farenthold (R-TX)
Fincher (R-TN)
Flake (R-AZ)
Fleischmann (R-TN)
Fleming (R-LA)
Flores (R-TX)
Forbes (R-VA)
Fortenberry (R-NE)
Foxx (R-NC)
Franks (R-AZ)
Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)
Gallegly (R-CA)
Gardner (R-CO)
Garrett (R-NJ)
Gerlach (R-PA)
Gibbs (R-OH)
Gingrey (R-GA)
Goodlatte (R-VA)
Gosar (R-AZ)
Gowdy (R-SC)
Granger (R-TX)
Graves (R-GA)
Graves (R-MO)
Griffin (R-AR)
Griffith (R-VA)
Grimm (R-NY)
Guinta (R-NH)
Guthrie (R-KY)
Hall (R-TX)
Hanna (R-NY)
Harper (R-MS)
Harris (R-MD)
Hartzler (R-MO)
Hastings (R-WA)
Hayworth (R-NY)
Heck (R-NV)
Hensarling (R-TX)
Herger (R-CA)
Huelskamp (R-KS)
Huizenga (R-MI)
Hultgren (R-IL)
Hunter (R-CA)
Hurt (R-VA)
Issa (R-CA)
Jenkins (R-KS)
Johnson (R-OH)
Johnson (R-TX)
Jordan (R-OH)
Kelly (R-PA)
King (R-IA)
King (R-NY)
Kingston (R-GA)
Kinzinger (R-IL)
Kline (R-MN)
Lamborn (R-CO)
Lance (R-NJ)
Landry (R-LA)
Lankford (R-OK)
Latham (R-IA)
Latta (R-OH)
Lewis (R-CA)
Long (R-MO)
Lucas (R-OK)
Luetkemeyer (R-MO)
Lummis (R-WY)
Lungren (R-CA)
Manzullo (R-IL)
Marchant (R-TX)
Marino (R-PA)
McCarthy (R-CA)
McCaul (R-TX)
McClintock (R-CA)
McCotter (R-MI)
McHenry (R-NC)
McKeon (R-CA)
McKinley (R-WV)
McMorris (R-WA)
Meehan (R-PA)
Mica (R-FL)
Miller (R-FL)
Miller (R-MI)
Miller (R-CA)
Mulvaney (R-SC)
Murphy (R-PA)
Myrick (R-NC)
Nugent (R-FL)
Nunes (R-CA)
Nunnelee (R-MS)
Olson (R-TX)
Palazzo (R-MS)
Pearce (R-NM)
Pence (R-IN)
Petri (R-WI)
Pitts (R-PA)
Poe (R-TX)
Pompeo (R-KS)
Posey (R-FL)
Price (R-GA)
Quayle (R-AZ)
Reed (R-NY)
Rehberg (R-MT)
Reichert (R-WA)
Renacci (R-OH)
Ribble (R-WI)
Rigell (R-VA)
Rivera (R-FL)
Roby (R-AL)
Roe (R-TN)
Rogers (R-AL)
Rogers (R-KY)
Rogers (R-MI)
Rohrabacher (R-CA)
Rokita (R-IN)
Rooney (R-FL)
Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
Roskam (R-IL)
Ross (R-FL)
Royce (R-CA)
Runyan (R-NJ)
Ryan (R-WI)
Scalise (R-LA)
Schilling (R-IL)
Schmidt (R-OH)
Schock (R-IL)
Schweikert (R-AZ)
Scott (R-SC)
Scott (R-GA)
Sessions (R-TX)
Shimkus (R-IL)
Shuster (R-PA)
Simpson (R-ID)
Smith (R-NE)
Smith (R-NJ)
Smith (R-TX)
Southerland (R-FL)
Stearns (R-FL)
Stivers (R-OH)
Sullivan (R-OK)
Terry (R-NE)
Thompson (R-PA)
Thornberry (R-TX)
Tiberi (R-OH)
Tipton (R-CO)
Turner (R-NY)
Turner (R-OH)
Upton (R-MI)
Walberg (R-MI)
Walden (R-OR)
Walsh (R-IL)
Webster (R-FL)
West (R-FL)
Westmoreland (R-GA)
Wilson (R-SC)
Wittman (R-VA)
Womack (R-AK)
Woodall (R-GA)
Yoder (R-KS)
Young (R-AK)
Young (R-FL)
Young (R-IN)


2 thoughts on “House Republicans Pass Pay Cut For Postal, Federal Employees

  1. Well no one is ever going to take early retirement if they are hired after 2013. Why would you if theres not FERS supplement? That was part of the FERS retirement plan. I, for one, would not leave. The retirement they give us is a big joke anyway. No one can survive on the pennys they give us for retirement. You better be saving a ton of money in your TSP ACCOUNT….or else you are going to be living under a bridge somewhere!

Comments are closed.