Norton Urges USPS Stamp Committee to Honor Members Killed in 2001 Anthrax Attack

APWU Web News Article 077-2010, Aug. 3, 2010

Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) urged Postmaster General Potter and the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Council to approve a commemorative postage stamp honoring the lives of two APWU members killed in the 2001 anthrax attacks.

Joseph Curseen, Jr. and Thomas Morris, Jr. died after being exposed to anthrax in the attack at the Brentwood Mail Processing Facility in Washington, DC in October 2001. The facility has been renamed in their honor.

“These two men, born and raised in the District, dedicated their combined 52 years of service to their country and to the United States Postal Service as committed employees,” Norton said. “A commemorative stamp not only will honor the memory of their service and sacrifice, but will also remind Americans of the work and diligence of all those who protect the American people and the homeland.”

In April, Norton (D-DC) introduced a resolution (H Res. 1306) [PDF], co-sponsored by Donna Edwards (D-MD), recommending that the USPS issue a stamp honoring Curseen and Morris. The men are eligible for stamp commemoration because more than five years have passed since their deaths.

“We are pleased by the efforts to pay tribute to these dedicated postal employees, who were members of the APWU,” said union President William Burrus. “I look forward to a favorable response from the postmaster, and to a stamp in their honor in the near future.”

related link: Congresswomen Introduce Bill To Honor Two Postal Employees Who Died In Anthrax Attack