Postal Service Offers ‘Love Letters from Ella’

From USPS: On Jan. 25, 2010, the U.S. Postal Service released a special edition of Ella Fitzgerald’s classic album, Love Letters From Ella, for a limited time. This wonderful musical collection is being released to promote the use of mail during the Valentine’s season as well as Black History Month and will be available exclusively at a select group of 3,200 Post Offices across the United States.

Special Edition CD Features Classic Ella Fitzgerald Love Songs

WASHINGTON — Serenade that special someone in your life this Valentine’s Day with classic love songs featuring acclaimed music artist Ella Fitzgerald.

On sale for a limited time at select Post Offices nationwide, “Love Letters from Ella” is a collection of the jazz singer’s most cherished love songs, recorded with some of her favorite collaborators — including Count Basie and his orchestra, Joe Pass and André Previn.

This special edition, first released in 2007, also boasts a full reproduction of Fitzgerald’s commemorative postage stamp.

The 10-track CD, mixed in high-definition audio, includes Fitzgerald singing “Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone” with the Count Basie Orchestra, a duet of Joe Pass and Fitzgerald on “The One I Love” and her performance of “Our Love is Here to Stay” with pianist, conductor and composer André Previn.

“Love Letters From Ella” also features the celebrated singer accompanied by the London Symphony Orchestra on a rendition of “Cry Me a River.” The London Symphony Orchestra recorded the accompaniment, arranged by 24-time Grammy Award nominee Jorge Calandrelli, at Abbey Road studios in London.

The CD is available for $10.99 at a select group of 3,200 Post Offices across the nation and online at

For added convenience, “Love Letters from Ella” can be paired with a Valentine’s Day card and shipped in a Priority Mail Flat Rate Box or envelope to create the perfect gift for that special someone. The Priority Mail shipment will arrive in style in two to three delivery days, and shipping starts at just $4.90.

Complete Track Listing:

1. “Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone”
2. “Cry Me a River”
3. “You Turned the Tables on Me”
4. “I’ve Got the World on a String”
5. “Witchcraft”
6. “My Old Flame”
7. “The One I Love”
8. “Take Love Easy”
9. “Our Love is Here to Stay”
10. “Some Other Spring”