PMG Announces New Chairman of the Citizens Stamp Advisory Committee

 USPS Press Release

WASHINGTON — Postmaster General John Potter has appointed Jean Picker Firstenberg, former director and chief executive officer of the American Film Institute, chairman of the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee (CSAC), beginning in January 2009.

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Jean Firstenberg as chairman of the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee,” Potter said. “Jean has already made her presence felt on the committee, having served since 2002. I know she will be an excellent leader as we advance our stamp program in the 21st century.”

In other appointments, Jessica Helfand, who has served on the committee since 2006, will serve as design subcommittee chairman, and Michael Heyman, who was appointed to CSAC in 2000, will serve as vice chairman and subject subcommittee chairman. Both start their new assignments in January 2009.

Potter expressed his appreciation and thanks to outgoing chairman Ron Robinson, who has served on the committee for 15 years.
“Ron brought a passion to his work on the committee,” said Potter. “He has served with great distinction and the utmost dedication.”

To recognize Robinson for his leadership, Potter presented him with a unique, one-of-a-kind framed stamp piece, “Designing the Presidential Libraries Commemorative Stamp,” which includes all of the creative concepts and sketches in the design process for the stamp. Robinson was instrumental in shepherding the Presidential Libraries stamp.

Robinson championed many unique and interesting stamp subjects over the years, including those for: Fulbright Scholarships, Presidential Libraries, The White House, Vintage Black Cinema, Hattie McDaniel, and the To Form a More Perfect Union civil rights stamps. He was big supporter of stamps for the military.  Robinson revamped the evaluation and decision-making process for stamp selections. He was instrumental in the move to new stamp shapes with the release of the triangular stamps in 1997.

Potter also praised the work of designer Michael Brock, who is leaving the CSAC after 15 years of service. Appointed to CSAC in 1993, Brock served as design subcommittee chairman from 2005 to 2008.